Databases

Premier genealogy resource with federal and state census records, military and immigration records, birth, death, and marriage records, and other reference sources such as high school yearbooks.  In-library use only.

Explore 145,000 maps of the world, continents, countries, and states. Browse antique and historical maps, climate and ecology maps, flags of the world, and glossaries. Play geography games.

Improve your cultural intelligence in an increasingly connected world. Learn about the culture, language, history, food, religion, and much more, for 175 countries.

Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, find accurate, authoritative and up-to-date DIY service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported cars, SUVs, vans and light trucks. Diagrams and images can be magnified and printed.

Provides live help 1-10 p.m. Monday-Thursday. Connect with a guidance counselor for help with college applications, admissions interviews, and financial aid opportunities. Get individualized feedback on application essays and other writing. Browse resources and take practice tests. Use eParachute to discover college majors and careers that match your skills and interests.

Provides live online tutoring 2-11 p.m. daily, plus a writing center (get individualized feedback on your paper). Use SkillSurfer to access a learning library for kids, teens, and adults on school and career topics. Includes practice tests for GED, ACT, SAT, GRE, AP, ASVAB, and many more. Features live FAFSA help, ELL resources, and citizenship practice tests.

Provides practical tools for job seekers. Receive personalized expert analysis of your resume and cover letter; get live job, resume, and interview coaching 2-11 p.m. daily; review resources and practice exams for specific careers; and use eParachute to discover majors and careers that match your skills and interests.

Full-text articles from more than 2,300 journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics.

Search a wide variety of credible, vetted local and regional newspapers from throughout the Chicagoland area, including the Chicago Sun-Times, Daily Herald, Naperville Sun, and more.

Read today's newspaper or recent issues by selecting the Image format and browsing by date. Search current and archived issues from 1986 to the present.

Comprehensive coverage from 1985 to the present. Search top news stories, local issues, obituaries, pop culture, and more. Note obituaries from 1985-1999 are missing.

Search for articles, obituaries, and more from the Chicago Tribune spanning 1849 to 1998. Find first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society, and events of the time.

Read today’s newspaper and previous issues. Search for articles from 1985 to present.

Topics cover health and wellness spectrum—from mainstream medicine to complementary, holistic, and integrated medicine. Includes encyclopedias, journals, magazines, evidence-based health reports, drug information, and medical images and diagrams.

Ratings, reviews, recommendations, and buying advice for thousands of products including cars, appliances, electronics, and more. Find in-depth money-saving advice, tips, and trends. Also available on Flipster.

Articles, advice, and consumer ratings of services in the Chicago area. Research auto repair shops, contractors, plumbers, veterinarians, doctors, carpet cleaners, and many more. Create an account to add ratings and reviews.

Read the latest issues or search for articles from 1996 to present. Find articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, and timely news.

App available. Thousands of award-winning art and craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists. Topics including sewing, paper crafts, cake decorating, and jewelry making. Includes classes specifically for kids.

Read today's newspaper or recent issues by selecting the Image format and browsing by date. Search current and archived issues from 1995 to the present.

Read today’s newspaper and previous issues. Search for articles from 1997 to present.

Practice driving exams for getting a license in Illinois. Tests for car, motorcycle, and commercial driver’s license (CDL). Read the Illinois Rules of the Road, motorcycle, or CDL handbooks. Browse the FAQ section.

Articles and ebooks for children in Pre-K through 5th grade.

Articles and ebooks for students in grades 6-8.

As a FamilySearch affiliate library, we provide access to worldwide genealogical records, images, and documents. When searching from outside the library, some results show an icon with a key above a camera lens, indicating they are locked to the user. In-library use only.

Search Chicago city directories and US military records from the Revolutionary War onward. Includes stories, photos, and personal documents of those who served. 

A guided step-by-step experience for starting, managing, or growing a business. Develop a business plan, create deliverables, and track progress. Resources for new entrepreneurs and seasoned business owners.

Access over 3,000 U.S. and international newspapers such as Chicago Tribune, Daily Herald, Financial Times, The Guardian, The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post. Coverage from 1980s to present. Search by topic or browse an issue of a specific newspaper.

Search primary sources such as census records, city directories, family and local histories, Revolutionary War files, and Freedman’s Bank Records. Includes resources on towns and families from all 50 states, Canada, and the British Isles.

How-to instructions and creative ideas for collectors, crafters, fans and foodies.

Your source for "how-to" information on a variety of do-it-yourself home improvement and repair projects.

Read today’s newspaper and previous issues. Search for articles from 1985 to present.

Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and more to achieve the results you want at school, at work, or in life. Includes tests for elementary, middle, high school, and college students, plus aptitude tests and career information for job seekers. Includes resources in Spanish.

Find fillable legal forms by state; browse topics including estate planning, family affairs, business law, and immigration; and learn how to navigate a wide range of legal issues. Many of the full-text books are provided by Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.

App available. Over 3,000 video courses to learn business, marketing, design, photography, and technology skills. Software instruction includes beginner to advanced courses on Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint, Adobe Photoshop, and much more. Formerly Lynda.com.

App available. Learn a new language, improve current skills, and increase cultural awareness. Contains 70 world language courses including Arabic, Korean, Polish, Russian, and Spanish designed to adapt to a diverse range of learning needs, styles, and backgrounds. Over 20 ELL courses for speakers new to English.

Provides full-text reference books, encyclopedias, biographies, magazines, and primary source documents. Includes image collection of photos, videos, maps, and flags. Covers all subject areas.

Identify stocks, mutual funds, and ETFs that meet your needs. Includes analyst reports, investor newsletters, fund screening tools, portfolio analysis tools, and college and retirement calculators. Build knowledge with the Investing Classroom.

Read today's newspaper or recent issues by selecting the Image format and browsing by date. Search current and archived issues from 1997 to the present.

Read today’s newspaper and previous issues. Search for articles from 1980 to present.

Browse the left sidebar for hot topics and daily headlines in the news. View special reports grouped by theme on global issues and timely events. Includes current and retrospective coverage using news articles, images, videos, and maps.

Contains millions of searchable newspaper pages published 1607 to present from more than 400 cities in the United States, United Kingdom, and more than 15 other countries. Enter search terms or browse newspapers by country, city, state, and year to discover obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, sports articles, and more.

Articles from the world's most popular newspapers, newswires and news magazines.

Access over 4,000 newspapers dating from the early 1700s to the 2000s. Discover articles from local and regional papers as well as national and international resources. 

Find just the right book for children in grades K-8.  Search by subject, awards, made into movies and more!

Discover expert reading recommendations for favorite titles, authors, and series. Browse reviews, articles, lists, and series information. Covers fiction, nonfiction, and audiobooks for adults, teen, and youth.

Provides materials to support differing points of view on current issues in the forms of primary source documents, statistics, websites, and multimedia. Topics include business and economics, health and medicine, law and politics, society and culture, and national debate subjects.

Provides balanced perspectives on current events to better understand controversial issues and craft persuasive arguments.

Search public records for new businesses, real estate transactions, foreclosures and auctions, and bankruptcies by county in Illinois. Build custom marketing lists for your business.

Directory of 50 million businesses and 150 million residents. Find phone numbers, addresses, consumer data and health care listings. Build marketing and mailing lists. Includes job listings from ZipRecruiter.

Fire insurance maps from 1867-1970 chart the growth and development of towns and cities in Illinois. They are large scale plans of a city or town drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.

Repair guides for small engines and routine maintenance, plus guides on extensive repairs. Covers lawn mowers, motorcycles, tractors, snowmobiles and more.

Research large, mid-cap, and small stocks plus mutual funds and options. Includes stock analysis, industry reports, historical data, market information, and stock screener. Use Investment Education section for glossary, articles, and videos.  

Read today’s newspaper and previous issues. Search for articles from 1984 to present.

Read today’s newspaper and previous issues. Search for articles from 1987 to present.

Search for books and other material in libraries worldwide.  Request an interlibrary loan for pickup at WPL. 

Learn how to use the library's online resources.